X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Kyle
    • Apr 2010

Water in Diesel

Hi- as I am new to the DiD, I search the threads but couldnt find the right info- can anyone tell me; if you get water in the diesel (from servo I would imagine), is there some sort of monitor that cuts the motor before any damage is done and if not where do you stand warranty wise if?? I see a lot of people talk about this issue so it kinda worries me a little
    thanks
    Kyle
    March built 2010 NT Exceed DID-Black !
    Bonnet protector,Side step ilumination,headlamp/fog lamp protectors
  • brianwanless
    Valued Member
    • Dec 2008
    • Mackay Nth Qld

I think you will have a fuel filter light on your dashboard, if this lights up you will have water in the bottom of your filter. Check your user manual.
    I think it works with a float that rises on water but not on diesel. When sufficient water is in the bottom of the filter it turns the light on.
    Time for a filter change, this may happen again, depending on the amount of water in your tank. Hope this helps. Brian.
    NP did, auto, mags, aux tank, bullbar, hid spots, leds, uhf, engine watchdog, safari chip, anderson plug, fridge socket, gps, snorkel, airbags, sidesteps, dual batteries, hr towbar, brake controller, torque convertor lockup switch, slotted discs, stainless braided brake hoses, led rev lights.

Comment

• bige
      • Apr 2010

the only warning you get is the fuel filter warning light comes on,
      if you stop soon enough the water should not get past the filter
      but this depends on how much water is in the tank
      if you dont see it the motor will run till it stops
      damage done and no warranty

Comment

• bushman
        Valued Member
        • Mar 2009
        • Wollondilly Shire NSW

Owners manual tells you how to drain water from the filter, you shouldn't have to much trouble with water if purchasing fuel from reputable outlets.