• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • red paj
    • May 2017
    • Merimbula

Epic Simpson Desert Recovery. Part 2

Thanks for all your feedback on my 2009 NT that died in the Simpson. I have been a bit slack in answering you all but the car has actually only made it back as far as Melbourne so far, so I am no wiser what actually went wrong at this stage. I am a "Premium" NRMA member so they are paying to truck the Pajero from Alice Springs to my Mitsubishi dealer in Bega. But since she is a 'deaden' it is a lot harder to truck thru all the connections than a car that can be driven.

My name is actually Dave and I am a 65yo retired farmer, so I do know a bit about engines. The driver of the tow vehicle was my 18yo son Jasper in his 2000 NL Pajero petrol with 260,000ks. I was ment to be the one going along to pick up the pieces! My wife and 9yo daughter were our passengers.

When the car first died without any warning, it was hard to crank and I thought we had battery problems. We restarted it about six times with jumper leads but it took a while to realize the engine was close to seizing and we had BIG problems.

And I guess that brings us to the other half of the story. We were carrying just enough fuel to comfortably get us to Jervios Station where we knew we could buy more. BUT, Jasper was petrol, I was diesel........... We did not have enough petrol to tow the 400k to Jervois.

SO. Probably enough petrol for the poor old NL to MAYBE tow the 260k and hundreds of sand dunes back to Birdsville, where there was no way they could repair or replace an engine. OR, 400k up the hell of the Hay River with not enough juice, then another 360k on formed roads to a Mitsubishi Dealer in Alice Springs. We decided Alice was the better option.