• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Evie
    • Aug 2019
    • Perth

2019 Pajero Sport Tow Bar

Hi all, I am a newbie, Have just purchased a new 2019 Pajero Sport yesterday to use with my new caravan which is on order. I am working with my dealer having the add ons done, the electrical work required on the Sport for my van is being outsourced by the dealer to a 4wd company. I am stuck on my choice of tow ball, the Pajero Sport Manufacturers towball kit comes with the very unattractive black bar. I have been given the choice to have a Reece Haymans towball fitted with a lesser warranty than the manufacturers set up but I need to know why the Sport is their only vehicle with this bar set up and if I go with a conventional towball set up what I am negating by not having the original bar set up, Mitsubishi are not able to tell me what purpose this different set up serves and why it is different to their other models?? Can anyone please give me some advice so that I can make the best choice for my vehicle and caravan, dont know if it will weaken the strength of the 3100 towing capacity by not having the bar tow ball set up, any guidance would be very welcome, thank you in advance, Yvonne
  • old Jack
    Regular
    • Jun 2011
    • Adelaide, South Australia.

Hi Evie,

MMAL towbar is a factory approved accessory but it does hang down low and it will drag on creek exits if you are into 4wding. It does provide a level of protection if you reverse into something. Aesthetically it is better than the towbar that is fitted to most dual cab utes!

Aftermarket towbar, HR or similar, these are hidden behind the rear bumper cover and give you an integrated look, they do not compromise the exit angle but they do not offer any protection from minor rear end accidents. These towbars are better if you are towing an off road camper trailer or off road van as they normally have a higher hitch receiver/socket.

By Australia Law both towbars have to be compliant and correctly rated.