Pajero 4WD Club of Victoria Public Forum Pajero 4WD Club of Victoria Public Forum

Go Back   Pajero 4WD Club of Victoria Public Forum > General Information > Mechanical

Mechanical Discussion of mechanical matters

Old 02-04-20
Valued Member

Default Cam sensor vs. crank angle sensor

OK, keep in mind I'm a layman ...............................

On a 6G74 engine, are the "cam sensor" and the "crank angle sensor" one and the same?

If not, a short description of the purpose of each would be appreciated.

Thanks.
Old 02-04-20
Valued Member

As far as I could see, the sensors were the same, but the leads and plugs were different in colour and length so that you could not confuse where to connect them. The crank angle sensor is used to determine the ignition advance. I never could understand what the cam angel sensor did, other than confirm that the camshaft was still rotating (ie the timing belt was not broken)..
Old 02-04-20
Valued Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by erad View Post
As far as I could see, the sensors were the same, but the leads and plugs were different in colour and length so that you could not confuse where to connect them. The crank angle sensor is used to determine the ignition advance. I never could understand what the cam angel sensor did, other than confirm that the camshaft was still rotating (ie the timing belt was not broken)..

My thought is that a four stroke engine has two rotations of the crank for only one rotation of a camshaft.
Without a cam sensor you wouldn't be able to establish whether you were at tdc on any cylinder's power stroke or its induction stroke.
Happy to be corrected.
Old 02-04-20
Valued Member

That was my conclusion as well. To me that made the cam sensor redundant as the ecu would know what the crank is doing based on the cam sensor.
Old 02-04-20
Valued Member