Pajero 4WD Club of Victoria Public Forum Pajero 4WD Club of Victoria Public Forum

Go Back   Pajero 4WD Club of Victoria Public Forum > Vehicles > Generation 4-2 Pajero

Generation 4-2 Pajero NT model 2009 - 2011

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21  
Old 26-09-17
executive's Avatar
executive executive is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Melbourne - Doncaster
Posts: 175
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by martialllaw View Post
executive,
Did you install a camera with the new Kenwood Head unit? if so where did you place the camera?
I'm having a DDX9017DABS installed on the weekend.
No i hooked it up to the existing factory camera .
I am however considering installing a second camera at the back .
This is because i had moved the rear factory camera to the top of the door (under the dust deflector ) as i dont have a spare wheel cover any more since i had a rear steel bar put in with two carriers couple of years back and it seems to work perfectly .

I also dont need a dash cam as i have aleady installed a small one directly behind the rear vision camera and it is hidden away nicely .

You will enjoy your new unit , i installed mine around 2 weeks ago and love it . I installed one of the USB sockets in the blanking button next to the front vent for easy access. The second usb port is sitting in the glove box as i dont use it and it is mainly for USB sticks .
Hope this helps.
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 27-09-17
martialllaw's Avatar
martialllaw martialllaw is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Narangba
Posts: 265
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by executive View Post
No i hooked it up to the existing factory camera .
i had moved the rear factory camera to the top of the door (under the dust deflector ) as i dont have a spare wheel cover any more since i had a rear steel bar put in with two carriers couple of years back and it seems to work perfectly .
How is the camera attached to the door and how is the cable routed?
As you know I now have the same rear bar as you and as such camera positioning options are very limited. I was thinking either attached to the numberplate or on the light pole above the spare on the carrier but both these options place the camera way off centre. Putting it on the upper part of the door may be a better option.

Cheers

Adam
__________________
2010 NT GLS, ARB Deluxe winch bar, GME TX3540 UHF, TJM battery tray, DBA T3 Disc's, Front & Rear Harop E-Lokers, AAA rear draw system, Anderson connector for AUX power, kumho mt51 265 / 70 / R 17, Bushskinz sliders and Intercooler/Sump/Transmition/Transfer case Bash Plates, Bilstein/Dobinson combo, 2x2m austrack-deluxe-vehicle-awning, Airtec Snorkel, Wetseat Covers front /rear + centre console cover, SPV EGR MOD Mk3.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 27-09-17
executive's Avatar
executive executive is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Melbourne - Doncaster
Posts: 175
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by martialllaw View Post
How is the camera attached to the door and how is the cable routed?
As you know I now have the same rear bar as you and as such camera positioning options are very limited. I was thinking either attached to the numberplate or on the light pole above the spare on the carrier but both these options place the camera way off centre. Putting it on the upper part of the door may be a better option.

Cheers

Adam
Hi Adam ,
I cut off the end of the camera cable and put a hole in the middle underside of the dust deflector . I then removed the dust deflector and drilled a whole on the door directly behind the middle support of the dust deflector where it is not visible . I then ran the cable in the back door cavity and brought it out from the top of the door where I had drilled the hole . Sealed the hole fully with a black silicon .
Allowed the sealant to dry for 48 hours then drilled a hole in the centre leg of the dust deflector and ran the cable inside the deflector as it is hollow .

I then re-soldered the cable and sealed the joint in the cable with a heat shrink .
The dust deflector was then attached back to door again .

camera was put back on the dust deflector with a black silicone and taped up for three days before tape was removed and has been on the door for close to two years with no issues .


hope this helps .
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 20170927_175114.jpg (9.3 KB, 142 views)
File Type: jpg 20170927_183804.jpg (39.2 KB, 140 views)

Last edited by executive; 27-09-17 at 06:41 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 27-09-17
jasper361's Avatar
jasper361 jasper361 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Eatons Hill
Posts: 217
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by executive View Post
Hi Adam ,
I cut off the end of the camera cable and put a hole in the middle underside of the dust deflector . I then removed the dust deflector and drilled a whole on the door directly behind the middle support of the dust deflector where it is not visible . I then ran the cable in the back door cavity and brought it out from the top of the door where I had drilled the hole . Sealed the hole fully with a black silicon .
Allowed the sealant to dry for 48 hours then drilled a hole in the centre leg of the dust deflector and ran the cable inside the deflector as it is hollow .

I then re-soldered the cable and sealed the joint in the cable with a heat shrink .
The dust deflector was then attached back to door again .

camera was put back on the dust deflector with a black silicone and taped up for three days before tape was removed and has been on the door for close to two years with no issues .


hope this helps .
That's a great job, I wish the factory one was in that position.
__________________
2019 Ti Patrol
MY15 NX Exceed - Ironbark. - SOLD
Bash plates, Bilstein/kings, GME XRS330c
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 31-10-17
Funnelweb Funnelweb is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Qld
Posts: 5
Default

Sorry to ask what has probably been asked thousand time,
I have a 2012 platinum WITH Rockford, have read whole thread, so changing head unit IS. ok with speaker? I don't mind losing sub at back or a few small speaker, as long as I have some reasonable sound, for the gain of iPhone use with Bluetooth, and Apple play map Nav. Would like to keep steering controls, and rear cam. ?
If I remove old unit, is new one plug in and done? Or is there changing of the plugs to do?
I'm no auto electrician , in fact, far from it.

Also I'm in qld.
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 31-10-17
sybernetics's Avatar
sybernetics sybernetics is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 87
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by executive View Post
One of the main reasons I went with Kenwood vs Pioneer is because these units have Capacitive screens which are a lot smoother than Resistive screens .

Here are the photos of the work .
Attachment 37469Attachment 37470Attachment 37471Attachment 37472

Just to be clear , this Kenwood unit is designed for the new Toyotas and Subaru's as they have the larger opening and hence the model name : DDX917WS (Widescreen) and has the size of 200mm (w) x 100mm (H) with the extra trim it takes it to : 210mm (w) x 104 (H)
http://www.kenwood.com/au/

The Pajero NT , provides 210mm (w) x 110 (H) wide opening which will fit this unit however, I am not sure if there is a pre-made wiring harness for this particular unit given that most people who decide to get these features go with its brother DDX9017DABS which has exact same features plus a digital radio but it is lacking the Gesture feature that is only available on the widescreen version .

Also to make the unit sit back flush with the facia , I had to modify the bracket a little which took some time . Most people said that I will not be able to install this unit and should go with DDX9017DABS as it is designed for most cars but this meant that I had to get a new facia trim for $80 and also I would have had to have a bigger gap around the unit which the facia trim would have covered but I wanted to make this as original as possible.

Unit does come with two USB cables and I have since moved one of these cabled to a high spot on the dash .and the other in the glovebox which I can use for USB sticks .
hope this helps
This unit looks awesome. Any chance you can post some close up pics with the unit on? Also, how did you work out the wiring? My concern is to keep the wiring as plug n play as possible.
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 01-11-17
executive's Avatar
executive executive is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Melbourne - Doncaster
Posts: 175
Default

I will takes some close up pictures this weekend as i have just returned from an O/S trip and have heaps on . As for the wiring , you can buy the plugs and use them however the plug that i bought wasnt the right one so i decided to tap in to the existing wires and solder the connections and heat shrink every joint. This meant the old connectors and the ones that came with the unit are fixed at the back and i can remove the new head unit and put back in the old mmc if i ever choose to .
However if i ever choose to remove the new unit and install it in my next car i will have to buy the plugs that came with the unit again .

My thinking is that , if i ever sell the car in the next few years i will leave the new unit in it as it will probably be old technology by then anyway .

I did the same with my old NM Pajero and i got a lot of interests buyers when it came to selling it .
Hope this helps.
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 22-11-17
tryan277 tryan277 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Melbourne South East Suburbs
Posts: 16
Default

Are you looking to sell your MMC. Mine has just died and looking for another one

Trevor
__________________
Pajero 2010 NT VRX Diesel Auto
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 22-11-17
Rusty1's Avatar
Rusty1 Rusty1 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Rous NSW
Posts: 34
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tryan277 View Post
Are you looking to sell your MMC. Mine has just died and looking for another one

Trevor
Trevor, I've got one to sell, was in my NT Platinum..

Rusty1
__________________
2011 NT Platinum, SPV egr mod, ARB Sahara bar, ARB Intensity lights, Redarc DC/DC40, Redarc Tow-Pro elite, Clearview mirrors, Uniden 8020, Pioneer AVZ-H5050BT, ARK pac 715 with 100a/hr agm, Evakool fridg, Hema HX1, Steinbauer module, M&M Lockup Mate and more.
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 28-11-17
wrfreak wrfreak is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Bungendore
Posts: 25
Default

I'm looking to do the same. I have my eye on a pioneer head unit but am told I need a $300 adapter from aerpro to maintain use of the Rockford amp and speakers. Just finding that a bit hard to swallow.



QUOTE=Funnelweb;566699]Sorry to ask what has probably been asked thousand time,
I have a 2012 platinum WITH Rockford, have read whole thread, so changing head unit IS. ok with speaker? I don't mind losing sub at back or a few small speaker, as long as I have some reasonable sound, for the gain of iPhone use with Bluetooth, and Apple play map Nav. Would like to keep steering controls, and rear cam. ?
If I remove old unit, is new one plug in and done? Or is there changing of the plugs to do?
I'm no auto electrician , in fact, far from it.

Also I'm in qld.[/QUOTE]
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Replacement of MMCS Mundy55 Generation 4-4 Pajero 20 10-10-18 06:23 PM
replacement headunit with rockford 2010 NT gnatsum69 Generation 4-2 Pajero 6 30-06-17 12:00 PM
NS Exceed - Rockford to MMCS Conversion sybernetics Electrical / Radios 11 13-07-15 11:36 AM
Aftermarket bluetooth/iphone integration (NS Rockford MMCS) pracolas Electrical / Radios 10 15-08-14 10:46 PM
Convert Rockford to MMCS bigshorts Electrical / Radios 2 16-01-14 03:42 PM


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 06:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.