• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Ran
    • Nov 2015
    • Brisbane

An old favourite - '90 SWB

*moved from 1st gen threads:

So I've been creeping around this forum for a few years now but my 1990 SWB has been here much longer - it was originally owned by Nabsie in Brisbane and then sold to another forum member (Dan) in Melbourne whose avatar I can't remember.

It was bought unseen from Dan with 155000km and trucked back up to Brisbane. I was able to research it's history on this forum. That was a few years ago. It is in excellent condition - people are usually amazed to find out it's nearly 30 years old.

We are up to 210000km now and still going strong. I had never been in a 1st gen Paj. My first impressions were: Comfortable, roomy, excellent vision, easy to drive. I guess I expected an old SWB to be much rougher. Coils in the rear and suspension seats make it a great car for trips.

Existing mods: 2" susp lift, flipped ball joints, gen 2 UCAs, catch can, Bilsteins, ARB gen2 winch bar colour coded

My mods: New carpet, Double door seals, Reso-mat sound deadener, Hankook MT 235/85r16, 2.75" exhaust with straight-through muffler, removed front sway bar (need to replace with rubber bushes), dark tint, passenger side suspension seat, blocked EGR and catch-can to intake feed, original steering wheel back on (bigger diameter and nicer to use)

Planned: gen 2 axle swap, 2nd fuel tank, custom rear bar, rear drawers and fridge slide, EGT and boost gauges, gen 2 steering box

Problems:
    AC leaked out. Found it was just a loose hose connector. Upgraded to R134 and ice cold;
    Rear main seal leak - will get round to it...;
    Alternator died after a while - replaced;
    Steering idler arm bush flogged out - replaced;
    Vibration under certain loads at lower RPM - probably an engine or gbox mount;
    Missing fan shroud (Rocking horse shit for some reason);
    Front windscreen washer bottle leaks;
    Clutch is sticking (possibly due to long-term rear main leak?);