• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Obelix
    • Oct 2017
    • Perth, WA

NW - Hard to start when tank fuel level low

Hi,

My Diesel NW 2014 has been hard to start (8+rotations) when the fuel level is low in the tank.
    It also stalls a bit at these times - but it would last only for a few seconds, then pick up again.

This is the second time it happened. The first time i topped up the tank and drove it 4-5 kms on a freeway and it cleared.
    The second time, I took it to the freeway, but the problem didn't fix itself.
    However, it went back to normal as soon as I topped up the tank. I only use Vortex Diesel.

It now works well, but I noticed a bit of grey smoke when I start, and occassionally, when idling on traffic lights (but not always).

I suspect dirty Diesel which stirs as the level goes low, but before I do something drastic like flushing the tank, I was hoping for some advice.

Maybe there is a good fueld additive? Or some filter to flush?
    I'm very new to this car so any advice would be appreciated.
  • erad
    Valued Member
    • Mar 2015
    • Cooma NSW

Check the tightness of the hose clamps on the fuel lines. The fuel filter is above the level of the fuel in the tank, and therefore the fuel system at this point is under slight vacuum. Air can leak into the system and thus destroy the vacuum and prevent the fuel pump from sucking fuel to the common rail. Theoretically, the fuel filter should filter out any contaminants, and the level of the fuel in the tank should not affect the starting, but if you have a minor air leak, this is when it will show up.

Comment

• shawty950
      • Jun 2011
      • Brisbane

If its only when the tank is low have a look at this thread

SOLD at 150k's - 2011 NT Platinum Diesel auto. Wheels and tyres, cav filter, caddy storage/ausguard barrier and icom IC-440N. NoLimit Tuning Chip. T13 Bullbar. Other stuff when money allows.