• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • fabo
    • Nov 2018
    • Busselton

Newbie looking at Gen 1 to buy... Questions

Hi guys, I'm a newbie here and going on the lookout for a Gen 1 turbo diesel LWB... Can I get some info on the engines pros and cons and auto gearbox.... Are parts hard to get for my mechanic etc, exy or the norm... What common fails what doesn't... I'm just looking for one for my daily and the occasional 4wd track and beach for a few surfing spots....im looking at one tomorrow, 88 2.5 to intercooler, auto, stock std...

Cheers
    Fabo
    BUSSO in WA
  • old Jack
    Regular
    • Jun 2011
    • Adelaide, South Australia.

Hi Fabo,

Any 30 year old car can be a "financial black hole" especially a 4wd which you have not owned before especially if you are paying someone to work on it and you want to use it as your daily driver. It would have to have been almost completely rebuilt so ask to see the receipts of what work has been done, this will give you an idea of the cost of ownership.

OJ.
    2011 PB Base White Auto, Smartbar, Cooper STMaxx LT235/85R-16,TPMS, HR TB, 3 x Bushskinz, front +40mm Dobinson , rear +50mm EHDVR Lovells, Dobinson MT struts and shockers, Peddars 5899 cone springs, Windcheater rack, GME UHF, Custom alloy drawer system inc. 30lt Engel & 2 x 30 AH LiFePo batteries + elec controls, Tailgate hi-lift/long struts, Phillips +100 LB & HB, Lightforce 20" single row driving beam LED lightbar, Scanguage II.
    MM4x4 Auto Mate, Serial No 1 .

Comment

• fabo
      • Nov 2018
      • Busselton

I'm aware of owning a old car because it's only ever what I've own.. I can't stand new cars...