• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • John McFarlane
    • Jul 2007
    • Broome WA

Alice springs to Kununurra

Hi all,
    Will be travelling out of Canberra in 5 weeks, west to SA then upwards via the Rock to Kununurra and on to Wyndham for some work (partner is a nurse and I'm an auto electrician).
    NM Pajero on LPG mostly. And a standard camper trailer, not an off roady.
    Any advice on LPG outlets (whereabouts, prices, what to stay away from) and the Buchanan Hwy amongst other advice would be appreciated.

Cheers, John
    Cheers, John
    Auto Electrician 35+ years
    NM but with tricky electrical setups of course.
    And that's the wank wank wank and more wank factor out of the way.
  • gaz1
    Valued Member
    • Jun 2007
    • Blue Mountains NSW

The lpg outlets vary from time to time, it's best to check on the lpg association's website (and/or the major fuel companies), they have a list of where to find them. My experience on the Stuart H'way is that you can't necessarily depend on all the marked fuel stops actually having any - and that goes for petrol as well as lpg. Because of that, I always make sure that I have enough fuel onboard to get to the second-next fuel stop just in case the next one has run out. I almost got caught a few years ago - was running on the proverbial smell of an oil rag because I had relied on the "next" fuel stop, it had run dry. That was between Three Ways and Katherine I can't remember exactly which place.

Gaz
    2010 MY 2011 VR-X V6. Stock standard.

Previously 02 NM auto V6 Exceed silver. Extra transmission cooler & transmission temp gauge, activated rear lights, Impco sequential LPG system, Redback (Wildcat) Headers, heavy duty radiator. Lovells shocks F & R, Polyair bags in rear.

My original Pajero experience - '90 NG Superwagon, 3.0 V6 manual bought new and kept until 1998. Great vehicle, no problems apart from the noisy valve lifters typical of that engine.

Comment

• dryzoned
      • Aug 2009