• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • lledwod
    • Mar 2019
    • Dawson City YT

New to me 1993 Pajero

Hi there from the Yukon in Canada. I hope I am not out of place here I got this 1993 with the 2.8 diesel. It was imported from Japan, and currently has 174 000 km's. The vehicle was given to me, apparently it needs a head gasket. I've turned the motor over by hand, it turns easily with no indication of compression. I pulled the valve cover, the timing chain is in place and turns the cam. This is as far as I have got.

Is it worth digging into? (I know only I can answer that for myself! Just looking for opinions)

Worth noting, the car has sat untouched for about 3 years.

I have been maintaining my own vehicles, mostly Toyota's, for about 20 years, including rebuilding 4 engines. How-ever I have no diesel experience.

I have ordered a repair manual.

Now where do I start ....

Thanks for any suggestions,

Jonathan

[IMG][/IMG]
  • disco stu
    Valued Member
    • Dec 2018
    • Wollongong

Welcome to the forum. They let Americans on here, so I think you're safe! Must be getting balmy warm into the single minus digits now there in the far north that you're in.

It does seem weird that you have no compression at all in any cylinder, surely the whole head gasket can't blow. Still, regardless of what you do you'll have to pull the head off, so I would think the easiest bet now would be to remove head and see what is happening in there. All else fails you could put another engine in and still be ahead I would think

Comment

• christopher
      • Mar 2012
      • Chidlow W.A.

While I had a 1993 Pajero it was petrol, however it did last for ages.

If this link works it may help you while waiting for your repair manual, just look at the Pajero section under 1993 to 1998

2011 3.2 DID Pajero NT GLS Auto O/L Premium Steel Bullbar, Towbar, Redarc electric Brake controller, Graphite Tint Windows, Wireless Rear Camera low mount for easy float connection

Comment