• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Spin
    • Nov 2018
    • NSW

Swapped ECU and now it won't go.

I picked up a second NM for parts but it turned out the parts car is in better condition than mine.
    As mine was about to run out of rego, I thought it would be a good idea to swap my good bits onto the other car and register it instead.
    So far that idea isn't going too well.

The clock spring was no good in the parts car so I have swapped the steering column, ETACS module and ECU in the engine bay fuse box. Everything lights up when I turn the key on and the car cranks, but it will not fire.
    I have noticed the engine light comes on when I turn the key on. It stays lit for a few second then go out for a few seconds and then comes back on solid.

Is there another module somewhere I should have changed?
  • crispus
    • Oct 2018
    • Romania

Shouldn't you need to pair the new ECU with the immobilizer (or vice-versa)?
    Disclaimer: I'm no mechanic, just a car enthusiast...

Comment

• Spin
      • Nov 2018
      • NSW

I thought swapping the complete steering column, ETACS ECU and ECU under the bonnet from a running Pajero would keep them paired.
      That is unless there is another module for the immobiliser hidden somewhere else I haven't found.

I have swapped everything I could find under the dash that looks like an ECU except the one for the airbags.

Comment

• crispus
        • Oct 2018
        • Romania

Not sure for this particular model, but I know the VIN is stored in multiple ECU in the car for some models and used to know if a particular ECU belongs to that car...

Comment

• geopaj
          Valued Member
          • Jul 2007
          • Adelaide

Did it start before you swapped the steering column and associated bits? If yes, put it all back and just change the clock spring.

Why did you swap so much for just a clock spring? (I would have just changed the clock spring - you can buy them new for about $20-40 too)