Below Nav Bar

Collapse

Three wheel bearings defective in one year.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Anaemic
    • Jun 2018
    • Norway

Three wheel bearings defective in one year.

Hi. I have a 2004 paj with about 220'km on the dial. Bought it about a year ago and have since then changed left front wheel bearing three times. The last bearing was a FAG bearing.
    I am an educated mechanic and its a relative easy job to change the bearing. But now im starting to doubt. Is there anything I do wrong when mounting or tightening?
    I fasten the center hub nut to about 230nM (since my torque wrench stops at 220nm)
    Tires are bfGoodrich and generic rims. Even if the ET is off the bearings should not start to rumble in only 3-5months.
    Have anyone had the same fault?
    Any tips ans tricks are welcome!
    -Markus. Norway
    Last edited by Anaemic; 14-06-18, 06:19 AM. Reason: Forgot to write witch side.
  • craka
    Valued Member
    • Jun 2009
    • Newcastle (Newie)

Hi and welcome,

I don't know specifically, but if you could supply more details others might be able to help. Does it have a suspension lift? What size wheels and tyres are you running? Is wheel alignment within spec?

Also I see on the South African forum someone had identical problem.
    Please help I ve been a happy Pajero owner since August 2009. It has been mostly trouble free motoring except for a recurring front left wheel hub bearing failure. Both front hubs were replaced by the garage that I bought the car from when on 201 000..
    NS SWB X 3.2DiD - Factory locker, Hella spotties, GME UHF, 2" lift

Retired: 1991 NH SWB 3.0L V6 5sp Manual, Mickey Thompson ATZs, GME UHF TX3200.

Comment

• Dicko1
      Valued Member
      • Dec 2014
      • Cairns, FNQ

Originally posted by Anaemic View Post