Pajero 4WD Club of Victoria Public Forum Pajero 4WD Club of Victoria Public Forum

Go Back   Pajero 4WD Club of Victoria Public Forum > Vehicles > Generation 4-4 Pajero

Generation 4-4 Pajero NX model 2014 -

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 27-10-18
ofer24 ofer24 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Israel
Posts: 16
Default Tyre pressure (TPMS) PID for Torque

It's been a while that i've been looking for a way to monitor my tyre pressure with the Torque pro app from within the car. I also find annoying that among all the data MM chose to show on the center dash display such as altitude (like i'm driving a bat-mobile or something) and the date (seriously... the date?!) they did find it overly important to display tire pressure in an off-road vehicle (what good can that do, right?). The only issue is that I can't seem to find the PID for it and add custom PID to Torque.
Does any of you have access to a MUT3 device (or something similar)? If so, will it be possible to extract the PID from it?
Thanks

Last edited by ofer24; 31-10-18 at 05:54 PM. Reason: Sorry, I noticed I wrote "Tech2" device instead of "MUT3" (I had a Jackaroo once)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 27-10-18
farcanal farcanal is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 253
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ofer24 View Post
It's been a while that i've been looking for a way to monitor my tyre pressure with the Torque pro app from within the car. I also find annoying that among all the data MM chose to show on the center dash display such as altitude (like i'm driving a bat-mobile or something) and the date (seriously... the date?!) they did find it overly important to display tire pressure in an off-road vehicle (what good can that do, right?). The only issue is that I can't seem to find the PID for it and add custom PID to Torque.
Does any of you have access to a tech2 device (or something similar)? If so, will it be possible to extract the PID from it?
Thanks
Yeah, some of the info on the centre dash unit is a joke. I doubt anyone is remotely interested in the barometric pressure.
I've had a couple of passengers ask me what the graph is for.
Could have done a whole lot better in my opinion.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 31-10-18
Chris9753 Chris9753 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Victoria
Posts: 31
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ofer24 View Post
It's been a while that i've been looking for a way to monitor my tyre pressure with the Torque pro app from within the car. I also find annoying that among all the data MM chose to show on the center dash display such as altitude (like i'm driving a bat-mobile or something) and the date (seriously... the date?!) they did find it overly important to display tire pressure in an off-road vehicle (what good can that do, right?). The only issue is that I can't seem to find the PID for it and add custom PID to Torque.
Does any of you have access to a tech2 device (or something similar)? If so, will it be possible to extract the PID from it?
Thanks
Don't know anything about the torque pro app but was walking through Aldi the other day and they had a heap of tpms reduced to $69. Not sure if any good or not but can always return for full refund if not suitable. They were hidden away in the glass cases. Although they were advertised as 4wd they're not ideal for this as the min setting is 26 psi and I don't think this can be adjusted.

As an aside I spend a lot of time in the mountains and use the altitude function all the time. Agree on the uselessness of the graph and date!
__________________
2014 GLS
MMS Towbar, Redarc Tow Pro, Ultra Gauge, McHitch, Icom 450, Dual Batteries, Old Man Emu suspension, FOBO TPMS, full set Boo's Bash plates.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 18-01-20
Ellig's Avatar
Ellig Ellig is online now
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: Germany
Posts: 5
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ofer24 View Post
It's been a while that i've been looking for a way to monitor my tyre pressure with the Torque pro app from within the car. I also find annoying that among all the data MM chose to show on the center dash display such as altitude (like i'm driving a bat-mobile or something) and the date (seriously... the date?!) they did find it overly important to display tire pressure in an off-road vehicle (what good can that do, right?). The only issue is that I can't seem to find the PID for it and add custom PID to Torque.
Does any of you have access to a MUT3 device (or something similar)? If so, will it be possible to extract the PID from it?
Thanks
I would like to see the actual tire pressures in my TPMS-equipped Pajero too. At Youtube there is video showing TPMS-readings with an alternative OBD software, which is also available as Android app: https://youtu.be/M5EgYqPA43o

I'm new and totally unexperienced in using OBD and was not able to reproduce the steps shown in the video to find the TPMS-values with this app. Maybe some more experienced users will have more luck with this app.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 18-01-20
nj swb's Avatar
nj swb nj swb is offline
Resident
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Adelaide
Posts: 5,945
Default

I've never heard of a Pajero with TPMS from the factory, so I'm guessing it's not something offered in Australia.

For those markets that do have it, is it a proper system with sensors in the tyres, or a "de-facto" system that deduces a tyre pressure problem by comparing the ABS wheel speed signals?

If the wheels don't have pressure sensors to transmit actual pressures I doubt the OBD system will be able to provide values.

(As an aside: I had a Mk 6 Golf that used the ABS method, and alerted me to a slow leak. After I pumped the tyre up and followed the "reset" procedure it never set a new "baseline", and the next I knew about low tyre pressure was when the tail got loose on a bend on the highway. )
__________________
NT Platinum. DiD Auto with 265/70R17 Toyo MT, Lift, Lockers, Lockup Mate, Low range reduction, LRA Aux tank, bull bar, winch, lots of touring stuff. Flappy paddles. MMCS is gone!

Project: NJ SWB. 285/75R16 ST Maxx, 2" OME suspension, 2" body lift, ARB 110, 120l tank, bullbar, scratches, no major dents. Fully engineered in SA. NW DiD & auto in place - a long way to go....

Scorpro Explorer Box
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 18-01-20
Ellig's Avatar
Ellig Ellig is online now
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: Germany
Posts: 5
Default

Oh, that's new for me. In EU-Europe where I bought my Pajero all new manufactured cars have to come with TPMS from the factory.

The factory TPMS of my MY 2017 Pajero uses wireless tire internal TPMS sensors. The sensors have to be re-learned to the car, when tires/ TPMS-sensors (chatting at 433Mhz) are exchanged. Although the TPMS-integration into the Pajero's display units is very minimalistic:

1.) warning, when tire pressure is low (equal or below 2 bar)
2.) possibility to switch between two TPMS equipped sets of tires

See picture below:

Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
TPMS - Tyre pressure monitoring system damos75 Pajero Sport QE 2015 - 2019 12 21-03-18 10:42 PM
Tyre Pressure Management System-TPMS Tony G PB -PC Challenger 2009 - 2014 5 17-12-15 04:13 PM
pressure plate to flywheel bolt torque sikhabib Generation 3 Pajero 1 14-07-09 10:56 PM
AirAware Tyre Pressure Monitoring System (TPMS) Pickle Product reviews and New releases 15 21-04-09 08:29 PM


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 07:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.