Pajero 4WD Club of Victoria Public Forum Pajero 4WD Club of Victoria Public Forum

Go Back   Pajero 4WD Club of Victoria Public Forum > General Information > GPS Tech / Navigation

GPS Tech / Navigation Discussion on GPS units. Maps and laptops

Old 07-04-11

Default ozi explorer

so i got this new gps device thats got ozi explorer with all the maps of australia in it!!!
nice they say!!
well i say how the hell does this pile of crap work lol!!!
is it a map that i just check as im driving or can i set waypoints and be shown a path????
Old 07-04-11

does anyone in adelaide have one that can show me how it works??
Old 07-04-11
Valued Member

What brand and model did you get ?
Did it come with a book of destructions ?
Old 07-04-11
Resident

Where in Adelaide are you? I'm no expert, but I've been using Ozi for a few years - but I won't be able to help this month. If you can wait until next month, I'm happy to see if I can help.

FWIW, Ozi is essentially a moving map display - it overlays your current GPS position onto a map, plus a few other things.

You can pre-program a route on it, so it can show you current position versus the pre-programmed route, but it can't give you turn by turn directions. The "map" on your screen could be the Mona Lisa for all it knows.

Project: NJ SWB. 285/75R16 ST Maxx, 2" OME suspension, 2" body lift, ARB 110, 120l tank, bullbar, scratches, no major dents. Fully engineered in SA. NW DiD & auto in place - a long way to go....

Scorpro Explorer Box
Old 08-04-11
Valued Member

Well actually it can give turn by turn instructions if you put waypoints at the appropriate positions.