X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • bobt
    • Nov 2007

Help please from a 4X4 newbie.

Greetings all, I am a newbie & have just bought my first 4x4.It is a SWB NJ 1994 , soft top.

My question is fairly simple I hope for those that know this stuff !

On the 4wd gear lever it has 2H (thats simple) , 4H(I understand that)-but the diff lock light comes on ? , 4llC is the next & I can't really feel any diff between 4H & 4L,

I am a dumbo in this so

a, tell me I should not feel a difference
    b, Help please,,,what should I feel.

In 4H I have the top 2 wheel indicator lights on , in 4L I have the top two & the centre one ?

Am I missing something or this all as it should be...

Thankyou thanyou

Bob (in WA)
  • bounceferret
    • Jul 2007

Hi Bob
    congrats on the purchase!
    Is your car an auto or manual? I;m guessing auto.....with the auto there should be 2H,4H, 4HLC and 4LLC.
    4H can be used as full-time 4x4 as the centre diff (which locks the 2 axles together so they spin at the same speed) is unlocked. 4HLC means high range four wheel drive is actived but the centre diff is locked (this is only to be used when you really need the traction of 4x4, as using it on a paved road will lead to a nasty case of "windup" which will damage the driveline)

4LLC means 4x4 is activated with the centre diff locked and low range engaged, this is to be used when you need maximum tractability as low range effectivly doubles your torque, only ever use low range on some very tricky steep terrain. Also you cannot drive fast when low range is engaged, only slow driving.

If manual.... you have part time 4x4, 4h is to be used for sandy, dirt, or snow covered roads (never dry paved road surfaces) 4L is only to be used in tricky off-road conditions

hope this helps
    UPGRADING FROM THE NH TO AN NP EXCEED