• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Uxxo
    • Oct 2017
    • Perth

Exhaust fumes in the cabin

Newbie here…
    I have recently purchased a Pajero NT GL (diesel) and I believe that I have got a problem with exhaust fumes going in the cabin. With kids at the back this is a serious issue for me.
    The entire car has a very strong smell, hard to describe but I am confident that it’s caused by exhaust fumes, and it seems to be stronger in the boot. I am not 100% sure about my theory but I think that the smell is coming from the vents in the boot.
    Does anyone know how to remove the side panels in the boot? I am considering sealing both vents and see how it goes, I am not even sure what these vents are supposed to do.

• Seigried
    Valued Member
    • Apr 2016
    • brisbane

Get you exhaust checked for leaks. Pull out any rubber mats in case the are causing the smell.

Sent from my SM-G900I using Tapatalk

Comment

• eci_thump
      • Apr 2010
      • Karratha, WA

I think behind those vents is the flapper that prevents the cabin from increasing in pressure when you shut the doors, the vent just allows the air to pass through easier.
      2011 NT Pajero RX2 DiD

ARB Commercial bullbar, 22" LED light bar, Black Duck seat covers, Rhino roof rack, Bushskinz, 2" lift, Tough dog front, King Springs rear, Bridgestone Dueler D697

Comment

• spot01
        Valued Member
        • Apr 2011
        • Adelaide

X2 for check exhaust system for leaks, etc. If unsure, go to an exhaust shop.

Other things to check:
        - check the rear side flip out windows are properly latched & their seals are OK (I notice a lot of water marks in your photo that may indicate leaks at that window?)
        - check the large rear door seal is in good condition & making good contact (easy way to check seals is to put thin strips of paper over the seal, shut door/window & try to pull paper out - repeat all around the seal)
        Pajero NX MY21 GLS

Comment

• flyboy
          Valued Member