• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • pajeronl1999
    • Dec 2019
    • S.a

timing belt question

hi im new at mechanics and started doing my timing belt, i forgot too line my cams up and crank, i removed the timing belt and the drivers side cam sprung back, when the cam springs back would that damage the valves? any info would be helpful
  • tomwithannl
    Valued Member
    • Jan 2010
    • Maria Coast Tasmania.

Simple answer, no it won't. Just be careful when turning the crank and cams by hand to line up the timing marks.Easiest way now you have the belt off is to put the crank between tdc and bdc so none of the pistons are at the top of the cylinders then turn the cams till the marks line up then turn the crank till its marks line up then you are set to put the new belt on.

Tom
    1998 NL GLS 3.5 Auto. Bocar alloy bar with 13000lb I-Max winch & engine watchdog.
    1953 Morris Minor ute
    1990 Nissan Scargo van (The SNAIL)
    2005 Mercedes ML350 Special Edition 4Matic

Comment

• disco stu
      Valued Member
      • Dec 2018
      • Wollongong

Other option if you're really worried is to back off the bolts holding the rocker gear down so they aren't pushing the valves down. That will also stop the cams from wanting to rotate while moving things around. Just don't pull the rockers off the engine in case one of the hydraulic lifters drops out

Comment

• pajeronl1999
        • Dec 2019
        • S.a

Originally posted by tomwithannl View Post
        Simple answer, no it won't. Just be careful when turning the crank and cams by hand to line up the timing marks.Easiest way now you have the belt off is to put the crank between tdc and bdc so none of the pistons are at the top of the cylinders then turn the cams till the marks line up then turn the crank till its marks line up then you are set to put the new belt on.

Tom
        Where is the BDC position on the crank?

Comment

• disco stu
          Valued Member
          • Dec 2018