• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • arrow
    Valued Member
    • Nov 2007

Trailer axle question.

I'm building up a fire trailer (i.e. tank, pump, hose etc for when I burn off on the bush block) from an old motorbike trailer.

The current trailer is a bit low and I'd like to increase the ground clearance. The current arrangement is that the axle is mounted on top of the leaf springs and my thought is to move the axle to under the springs. Doesn't get me a lot of extra clearance, around 60-70mm, but better than it is currently.

Now, my question is, is it practical (and legal?) to mount an axle under the springs?
    Might sound a basic question but I'm a total novice in this regard.

Is the axle under the springs the way off-road campers get their ground clearance?

What might I need to consider if I go down this path?

Thanks.
  • ticky
    Valued Member
    • Jan 2015
    • Adelaide

It used to be, but most off road campers these days have a Trailing Arm and Coil Spring on each side with a stub axle rather than a full width axle going right across the trailer.

In any event, putting the axle under the springs wont hurt. it will give you trailer body a bit more clearance but your axle is still pretty low. increasing the diameter of the wheels will help a little, but then so will driving on the centre and one shoulder of the track.

Steve
    2009 NT VRX, Rear Battery Pack, 18" Bridgestone D-697, SPVi EGR mod, BushSkinz Intercooler & Sump Plates. BOO's Transmission & Transfer Case Plates. GME 3550, HID HB's and 22"LED Bar, Pioneer Avic F80DAB Audio/Coms/Nav system MM4x4 TC Lockup Mate. & 1/2 tank of Diesel

Pretty Stock but very Capable

Wish List: ARB Deluxe Bar & Winch, Snorkel, Diff Breathers, & 1/2 tank of Diesel

Comment

• Drewan
      • Apr 2017
      • Adelaide