• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Teamjet
    • Jun 2015
    • Sydney

Squealing

Hi all!

First post, I am sure it won't be my last!

I just picked up a 09 NT diesel, 120km.

I have noticed that with the colder mornings, I can head a squealing noise when I accelerate. It only squeals for 2 seconds and when I am taking off. Once the motor is warmer or if the mornings are warmer I can't hear anything?

I have read that some people think it might be the Alternator belt too slack while the heater plugs are active?? Can this wait till the next service (last one was 2000kms ago) or can it do more damage?

Any ideas? What should I check? or just something I need to get to used too?

PS - I am new to diesel. I have come from a Jeep Wrangler Rubicon.
  • spot01
    Valued Member
    • Apr 2011
    • Adelaide

Sounds like a loose or worn fan belt.

You could try tightening it a bit (don't overtighten) to see if it stops. If so, on a car with those kms, I would replace them (there are 2 matched belts + the A/C belt). I haven't done this job, but it looks like a bit of swearing & skinned knuckles would be involved! Or get it done by your mechanic - I wouldn't wait until the service, as it will probably get worse & may let you down at an inconvenient moment. Perhaps ask whoever serviced it only 2,000kms ago - probably not checked?
    Pajero NX MY21 GLS

Comment

• The Commodore
      Valued Member
      • Nov 2009
      • Macarthur Region NSW.

Have you checked that it's not your passenger squealing due to your driving?

Sorry!
      With 120,000Km's it could possibly do with the belt tensions checked. Also I've found that if mine get wet they make a bit of a racket so if you're parking it outside moisture in the air may be the cause until they dry out.
      Regards.....Keith.

Comment

• nifty
        Valued Member
        • Sep 2009