• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Sammy.see
    • May 2018
    • Sunshine coast

Nj front diff replacement help

Hey everyone.
    First time posting so hope im in the right area..
    I heard a sort of ticking noise from the front area of my NJ pajero. Removed my inner shaft (drivers side) going into the drive shaft housing and found half of the spline teeth ground off. Was told to replace the front diff as well, as this has caused it.

So now im trying to remove my outter cv's. I think i need to remove the hub on passenger side but am having difficulty removing the lower ball joint between the lower ccontrol arm and hub on passenger side.. also how does the passenger side cv shaft seperate from housing? Is it just a matter of a hard pull?

Any help is greatly appreciated as im a bit of a noob with cars (in case you didnt notice from my poor terminology)
  • Sammy.see
    • May 2018
    • Sunshine coast

Or can someone direct me to a post thread where these steps have been posted?
    Cheers.

Comment

• stumagoo
      Valued Member
      • Jun 2014
      • Perth WA S.O.R

you are on the right track, yes the hub needs at least the bottom ball joint released to allow the CV's to come out, espeially on the passenger (left hand) side - more on that in a moment. I use 2 large hammers and hit both sides (or one if you dont have 2 hammers) of the hub to shock the BJ out. Try to hit 180deg of each other if you can and either side of where the thread goes through the hub. The alternative is a Ball joint breaker but I never seem to have any luck with those myself. Iff you decide to hit the end of the thread be aware it is very easy to destroy the thread, I put have an old nut on flush with the end and hit that in extreme situations but I have also seen the thread destroyed by hitting the end of the ball joint.