• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • floater05
    • Nov 2010
    • Port Lincoln

Steel Rear Bar Dual Tyre Carrier

I used 125x75 RHS with 45mm angle iron to form mounting brackets onto the tow bar mounts and to bolt to the original mounting points. I used stub axles for the swing away tyre carrier mounts.

I used amr75wcr's (Wayne) build thread for inspiration and ideas.

I have never welded before this project, although I have done some metal work in the past. (Had help with the welding from my father.) Total cost so far is about $600 and 3 full weekends of my time.

I used the heat to my advantage today. I started painting at 7 am this morning at 25 degrees. by 8:30 I had finished just in time before the heat set in. A couple of hours in 40 degree weather and the paint was dry. Ready for me to fit taillights, checker-plate and mount to the Paj. Finished up by 4pm.

I'm planing to use the plastic parts of the old bumper as best as possible to make it look full and original. Will see how that works out. Still to come are the swing away arms, but that can be for another weekend. Still have to fit reversing lights also.

2002 NM GLS,
    ARB Bullbar, GME UHF, Narva 225s, 2" Lift (lovells) HD Front EHD Rear, Snorkel, Waeco CF50, ARB Awning, Rhino Racks, Pajero Club Stickers, Rear Aux Battery (Excide Stowaway ST27DC105), Maxtrax, Homemade roof basket, LED camp lights, Red Arc Low Coolant Alarm, Drop down table, Fishing Rod Holder, Rooftop Water Storage, Tigerz 11 winch, Bushskinz Bashplates, Rear Storage, Dual Tyre Carrier
  • Herman4x4
    Valued Member
    • Oct 2009
    • Melton, Victoria

Nice looking job you've done there.
    Cheers,
    Andrew.
    Cheers,
    Andrew.

2008 NS Diesel Auto - stock as a rock. Planning Tow bar, dual battery system, cargo barrier, bullbar, winch, lights, roof rack and suspension.
    Jayco Starcraft 17.58-3.

Comment

• sub888
      • Oct 2012
      • Barossa Valley

Looks great, nice job. have you got any side on shots?