PDA

View Full Version : Spray painting SWB Gen 2

craka
30-12-09, 09:09 AM
Just after some information on spray painting, never done it before. Could someone give me an idea of what volume of paint, primer, thinners, clear coat would be needed to do the whole car from being completely rubbed back to bare metal?

knakkers
30-12-09, 04:53 PM
Im a panel beater by trade, but have been out of the trade for about 15yrs now. My advise would be, go to your local supplier that specializes in, panel beating & spray painting supplies. As there is many different brands/types of paints available......& some cover better then others. Some brands/types are thicker then others, certain body fillers, spray putty, primers & paints can react againest one another & cause problems along the way. There are so many different variables of combinations.

Question...... have you done all the repairs on the vehicle perfectly? Just remember, paint will not hide any inperfections, the slightest little ripple or scratch in the body or in your repairs will stick out like dogs balls on a new paint job.....especially if its a dark colour. You dont want to go threw all the expense & labour of painting the vehicle if its not prepared correctly.

Its not easy repairing, preparing & painting a car. There is alot of time, effort & labour involved in respraying a car......just take your time doing it & dont cut corners. Speak to your local supplier & do your home work, there is plenty of books available at your local library, & our old mate google & the internet has shit loads of step by step info.

Have fun,

Cheers Stuart

craka
30-12-09, 05:39 PM
Thanks for the reply Knackers,