PDA

View Full Version : Does anyone know how to dent knock this?

AndyNH91
16-02-13, 11:29 PM
Kissed a tree truck as I drove over some rollie rocks near Suggan Buggan. Frustrating.

Anyway, does anyone know how to dent knock something like this?

captain_paj
17-02-13, 12:12 AM
Not a great chance of getting away without having to paint it - but there's some awesome vids on Youtube dealing with that sort of damage.

MAYBE hot glue and dent puller, but I think it's more grind it back, MIG weld a couple of nails/bolts and pull...

I'm no expert mind...It will be interesting to read the replies you get with suggestions. I'm looking forward to it. More stuff for me to learn!

JK017
17-02-13, 12:22 AM
Sorry mate but you will need to re-paint that one.

Some paint shops have a dent puller that attaches a "stud" which looks like a nail to the metal and you use a special dent puller to pull the metal back.

I have tacked several long nails in place with the mig. You hit the nail below the head with vice grips and gently hit on the vice grips to pull the metal out. You can spot heat the metal to make it easier. Then grind and sand the area for a thin film of bog before paint.

But all of the above is only needed if you cant get to the inside area of the dent.

geopaj
17-02-13, 02:08 PM
BEFORE you do anything, contact a pointless dent removal company. If it can be done, they'll be able to do it. From memory, they don,'t charge much.

BROOMZPAJ
17-02-13, 03:13 PM
BEFORE you do anything, contact a pointless dent removal company.

Had me scratching my head there for a while. :confused:

Then I realised pointless = paintless! :lol9[1]: :lol9[1]:

I've got my NM booked in for a small (paintless) dent repair Monday week with local AUSDENT franchise.

Probably not as bad as Andy's but will be interesting to see how they go as the dent is high on the rear passenger door near the window.

captain_paj
18-02-13, 07:12 AM